-21 F

What a rude awakening THAT is!  When I got up to scurry around, starting coffee and heating my cereal, etc. I was so grateful for the radiant heat in the floors.  Decided I was not interested enough to go fetch my newspaper down at the end of the driveway quite yet.  Here I am, wearing warm hi-tech layers of clothing, in a home with radiant heat in the floors, and all I can think of is the rest of the world huddled in cold (such as my daughter in Bucharest) and all those who have lived in this climate before me.  Not for the first time, I reflect that I would have made such a crummy pioneer . . .

Workers were here at 8 a.m. on the dot again, and the sound of nail guns is muffled from up here in my new “day room.”
Got a surprise phone call yesterday from a dear friend with whom I’d lost touch.  It was wonderful!  Why did I let so much time go by?
BSG returns tonight!  A nice aspect of being alone is being able to truly settle in and ENJOY moments like that.
Leave a Reply

